Kent A. Reierson is Of Counsel in the firm’s Williston Litigation Department. Before joining Crowley Fleck, Kent was in private practice in Williston since 1984 and concentrated in litigation, oil and gas law, and municipal law. Kent is a former State’s Attorney for Williams County, North Dakota, and served 12 years as City Attorney for Williston. He clerked for Chief Justice Ralph Erickstad of the North Dakota Supreme Court. Kent is a Civil Trial Specialist certified by the National Board of Trial Advocacy and has handled numerous jury and bench trials in state and federal courts, as well as appeals to the North Dakota Supreme Court and the U.S. 8th Circuit Court of Appeals. Kent is active in numerous civic, wildlife habitat conservation, and archery groups.

Kent was inducted as a Fellow to the American College of Trial Lawyers in 2016. Fellowship is extended only by invitation, after careful investigation, to those experienced trial lawyers who have mastered the art of advocacy and whose professional careers have been marked by the highest standards of ethical conduct, professionalism, civility and collegiality. Membership is limited to 1% of the total lawyer population of any state or province.

Practice Areas

Bar Admission

North Dakota, 1980
U.S. District Court, North Dakota
U.S. 8th Circuit Court of Appeals


1980 – J.D. and Masters of Public Administration, University of North Dakota
1976 – B.S. University of North Dakota
Civil Trial Specialist, certified May 2000-Present
National Board of Trial Advocacy which is accredited to certify specialties by the American Bar Association

Honors & Awards

Fellow, American College of Trial Lawyers
AV Preeminent Rating by Martindale-Hubbell
Best Lawyers in America for Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants (2014-Present)
Great Plains Super Lawyers – General Litigation, Energy & Natural Resources (2011-2018, 2021)
Chambers USA – Leading Lawyers in Litigation: Energy & Natural Resources

Community Involvement

Boy Scouts of America
Northern Lights Council Executive Committee, 2001-present
Great Northwest District Chairman, 1992-1994
District Committee, 1992-2004
Advisor, Archery Venturing Crew, 2000-2001
District Award of Merit, 1993-1994
Scout Master, 1986-1991
National Eagle Scout Association (Eagle Scout 1970)
Gloria Dei Church, member since 1985, Men’s Club President, 1991
Korner Lions Club, member since 1983, President 1991-1992, Treasurer 2004-2007, Melvin Jones Fellow, 1998
Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, MonDak Chapter, 1991-present, Chairman, 1996
North Dakota Bowhunters Association, President, 2009-present, Board of Directors since 1999, State Education Director, 1999-2007, Certified Bowhunter Education Instructor, 2000-present
National Bowhunter Education Foundation, ND State Director, 1999-2009

Professional Affiliations

North Dakota Judicial Nominating Committee (2018 – present)
North Dakota Supreme Court Disciplinary Board (2006-2012)
Member, North Dakota Supreme Court – State Bar Association Joint Procedures Committee 2012-2018
State Bar Association of North Dakota (Member since 1980)
Member Ethics Committee (2005-2006)
Member Judicial Elections Task Force (2005-Present)
Community Service Award for NW Judicial District (2006)
Board of Governors (2001-2003)
Northwest Judicial District Bar Association, President (2001-2003)
Member North Dakota Federal Court Magistrate Selection Panel (2004)
North Dakota Trial Lawyers Association, President (2001-2002)
Board of Governors (1995-2003)
Harry Pippin Foundation, President(2001-2008); Board (2000-present)
Upper Missouri Bar Association, President (1991); Member (1981-present)
American Association for Justice (Member since 1986)